Stage 1 equivalent training guidance

Published: 31/03/2021

Experience and evidence to be demonstrated


The experience required for the CT3 equivalent year should be achievable in most acute trusts, providing they have general surgical and emergency services, an obstetric unit and Intensive Care provision.

Specific experience and learning requirements are outlined in the following pages, structured around the domains of learning that comprise the new curriculum.


The following pages includes examples of the varieties of evidence that may be used to show achievement of the specialty-specific learning outcomes; this includes:

  • Perioperative Medicine and Health Promotion
  • General Anaesthesia
  • Regional Anaesthesia
  • Resuscitation and Transfer
  • Procedural Sedation
  • Pain
  • Intensive Care.

This information is intended as a guide only and other evidence may be used if relevant. You should provide some evidence for each of the domains.

Evidence may come in the form of supervised learning events (SLEs) such as A-CEX, DOPS, CBD, ALMAT and A-QIPAT (NB the A-QIPAT is only available on the 2021 LLp). It may also be in the form of personal activities such as courses, eLearning, teaching sessions, simulation training or attendance at departmental meetings.

SLEs generated for specialty specific domains can also be used to evidence attainment of the capabilities in the generic professional domains.

There are many examples and anaesthetists may sample from the lists or give other evidence if relevant.

Evidence for the generic professional domains may have been included previously in the non-clinical section of the LLp. Logbook data is also part of the evidence of experience.

Evidence existing from previous years in training may be used. Anaesthetists in training should liaise with their Educational Supervisor to determine whether is suitable.

The full Primary FRCA exam is required by the end of CT3.