2021 Curriculum learning syllabus: stage 3

Published: 23/02/2021


This guidance was reviewed on 1 February 2023

These pages will be reviewed and potentially updated no later than 31 January 2024.

If you would like to contact us, you can email the Anaesthetics Curriculum and Equivalence Team on training@rcoa.ac.uk or call on 020 7092 1550.

Please let us know what you think. If you feel the information on this page could be improved, please get in touch with us.

Structure of contents

Each of the 14 domains of learning includes the following:

  • Stage learning outcome

This is the learning outcome that anaesthetists in training will need to meet in order to get the domain signed off at the end of this stage.

  • Key capabilities

Anaesthetists in training will need to demonstrate attainment of all key capabilities in a domain of learning to meet the learning outcome for this stage.

  • Examples of evidence

These are examples of evidence that can be used to show achievement of key capabilities.

It is not intended that they are all completed but they are examples of what can be presented as evidence. A single piece of evidence can be used for a number of different capabilities across various domains and are not necessarily exclusive to the stage of training listed.

This is not exhaustive and other evidence may be used if thought appropriate by the trainer.

  • Cross links with other domains and capabilities

Supervised Learning Events or personal activities can be logged to multiple key capabilities in a variety of domains of learning, as appropriate.  This section suggests which domains should be considered when recording learning opportunities.

HALO guide

The contents of the learning syllabus can be downloaded in the form of the HALO guides.  You can download a copy of the stage 3 HALO guide here.


You can watch a guidance video about stage 3 and the SIAs here.

Change log

22 March 2021

  • Key capabilities re-clustered or re-lettered for: General Anaesthesia, and; Procedural Sedation.
  • Suggested supervision levels added or amended for: Perioperative Medicine and Health PromotionGeneral Anaesthesia; Regional AnaesthesiaResuscitation and Transfer; Procedural Sedation, and; Pain.
  • Key capability added: 'Provides safe anaesthetic care for the critically ill patient who needs to return to theatre from the intensive care unit' to General Anaesthesia.

26 May 2021

  • Inclusion of link to HALO guide (above) and Practical Procedures Grid (final chapter).
  • Additional stage learning outcome for: Intensive Care.
  • Updated examples of evidence for: Pain (key capabilities D & E, key capability F, key capability G).
  • Updated cross links with other domains and capabilities for: Regional Anaesthesia (key capability A), and; Pain (key capabilities D & E, key capability F).