RCoA Nominations Committee announce awards

Published: 30/11/2022

The College is delighted to announce details of awards from the September 2022 meeting of the RCoA Nominations Committee:

Professor Jaideep Pandit, Professor of Anaesthesia, University of Oxford, has been awarded the Gold Medal, our highest award to a Fellow of the College, in recognition of his sustained, high-impact contributions to the College over a number of years and to the specialty of anaesthesia in the UK and abroad. Described by his peers as a “true legend”,  he is also recognised for his work as the Chair of the Safe Anaesthesia Liaison Group (SALG) where his contributions in patient safety have received several national awards.

Dr Neil McGuire has been awarded the College Medal in recognition of his work with SALG, where he has made vital contributions to the work of SALG. The positive impact of his contributions have benefitted millions of patients and on the SALG Committee his wise contributions and insights have been influential in the development of the organisation.

Mr Pete Phillips has been awarded the President’s Commendation in recognition of his work with SALG where he has been able to bring a fresh perspective to deliberations from a devolved nation perspective. He has been a very active member of SALG for many years, representing the Welsh Government until his retirement in 2022.

We are also delighted to announce that the following member is to be awarded the
Fellow ad eundem.

Dr Venkat Hariharan has been Consultant Anaesthetist at Milton Keynes University Hospital for the last 12 years.  He has been involved in furthering the specialty in teaching training thought his career as an anaesthetist.  He is the Anaesthetic Lead for Enhanced Recovery for his Trust and sits on a number of College committees.


If you wish to find out more about these College awards along with others please visit our Awards and Honours page.