It’s time to vote! - Election to Council is open

Published: 17/11/2021

The ballot is now open for positions on RCoA Council, with 30 candidates standing to contribute to the College and represent our members at all stages of their working lives.  
Place your votes to fill six Consultant vacancies, one SAS vacancy and one Anaesthetist in Training vacancy. You need to vote by no later than midday on 16 December 2021. 

Frequently Asked Questions 
How do I vote? 

The ballot is being conducted electronically and all those eligible to vote should now have received a ballot email. This was sent by Civica Election Services on 16 November 2021 to the primary email address you have registered with the College. Look out for a message from RCoAvote. Your ballot email will take you to an election website where you can read the candidates’ statements and cast your vote. 

What should I do if I’ve not received my ballot email? 

If you have not received a ballot email and believe you should have, please: 

  • read the ‘Who can vote’ section below to double check the voting rights associated with your College membership category 

  • check all your email addresses, if you have more than one and you’re not sure which you have registered with the College as your primary address 

  • check your junk mail   

After those steps, please get in touch via and include your college reference number. 

Who can vote? 

Voting eligibility is set out in the College’s Charter & Ordinances and is specific to the category of each vacancy. 

Those eligible to vote for the Consultant vacancy are: 

  • Fellows 
  • Associate Fellows 
  • Members 
  • Associate Members 
  • Anaesthetists in Training 
  • Fellows in Training  
  • Senior Fellows and Members. 

Those eligible to vote for the SAS vacancy are: 

  • Members 
  • Associate Members. 

Those eligible to vote for the Anaesthetist in Training vacancy are: 

  •  Anaesthetists in Training 
  • Fellows in Training. 

Those who will be standing for election are listed below (in the order their applications were received). Terms of office begin in March 2022. 

Consultant vacancies (six to elect) 

  • Professor Michael Grocott 
    University Hospital Southampton 

  • Professor Andrew Smith 
    Royal Lancaster Infirmary  

  • Dr Jonathan Chambers 
    Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Dr Jamie Strachan 
    Milton Keynes University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Dr Toni Brunning 
    Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust 

  • Dr Sarah Thornton 
    The Royal Bolton Hospital 

  • Professor Andrew Hartle 
    St. Mary’s Hospital, London 

  • Dr Emily Simpson 
    Broomfield Hospital, Chelmsford, Essex 

  • Dr Abrie Theron 
    University Hospital of Wales  

  • Dr Mira Razzaque 
    The Royal London Hospital 

  • Dr Joseph Cosgrove 
    Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne 

  • Dr Elisa Bertoja 
    University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Dr Satya Francis 
    Leicester Royal Infirmary  

  • Dr Rebecca Barker 
    Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Dr Peter Hambly 
    John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford 

  • Dr Daphne Varveris 
    The Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow 

  • Dr Nicholas Levy 
    West Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Dr Sudhansu Pattnaik 
    Queen’s Hospital, Romford 

  • Dr Mathew Patteril 
    University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire 

  • Dr Roger Sharpe 
    Northwick Park Hospital, Harrow 

  • Dr Ian Whitehead 
    The James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough 

  • Dr Jonathan Wills 
    North Bristol NHS Trust 

SAS Vacancy (one to elect) 

  • Dr Kirstin May  
    Horton General Hospital, Oxford University Hospitals NHSFT 

  • Dr Sunil Kumar 
    Furness General Hospital, University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Dr Munmun Maity 
    Great Western Hospital, Swindon 

Anaesthetist in Training Vacancy (one to elect) 

  • Dr Rashmi Rebello 
    Milton Keynes University Hospital 

  • Dr Sarah Morton 
    West Middlesex University Hospital  

  • Dr Amelia Robinson 
    Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading  

  • Dr Soumen Sen 
    King’s College Hospital, London 

  • Dr Pooja Shah 
    National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery, London 

Contact Information: 
Jonathan Brüün 
Chief Executive Officer