College Awards

Published: 24/04/2024

The RCoA is pleased to announce the recipients of College Awards following the March 2024 meeting of our nominations committee.

Award winners are nominated by members of the College for their exceptional contribution to the specialty, both in the UK and internationally. The awards demonstrate the impressive achievements of our members and present an opportunity to celebrate people whose work is highly valued by their peers. Congratulations to all our award winners.  

Dr Lutful Aziz has been awarded an Honorary Fellowship for his sustained work in the development of Anaesthesia in Bangladesh.

Dr Aziz is an anaesthesiologist, intensivist and intervention pain physician in Dhaka, Bangladesh where he has worked for the last 35 years. He is a Member of the Bangladesh Society of Anaesthesia and immediate past President of the Bangladesh Society for the Study of Pain. He is a director of the Asia Oceania society of regional Anaesthesia and pain management (AOSRA-PM).

Dr Aziz will be presented with his award at the RCoA Diplomates Day in September 2024.

Professor Peter Mahoney has been awarded the College Medal for his academic work while Defence Professor of Anaesthesia and Critical Care and for his work as a founding member of the NIAA.

Professor Mahoney was the first UK Defence Professor of Anaesthesia and Critical Care (2008-16). He established the academic department and encouraged individuals to undertake research and higher degrees. He deployed actively to ensure that research was closely linked with the needs of the operational military and was awarded the OBE (promoted to CBE in 2015), a QCVS and the US Military Bronze Star. His current academic appointment is Visiting Chair at Cranfield University.

Professor Mahoney will be presented with his award at the RCoA Diplomates Day in
September 2024.

Dr Jo Budd has been awarded the College Medal for her clear and significant contribution to the College over a number of years.

Dr Budd has recently retired as a Consultant Anaesthetist and Intensivist at Hereford County Hospital. She Chaired the Anaesthetic Curriculum Development and Assurance Group, was a Regional Advisor (Anaesthetics) and an FRCA Examiner. Dr Budd continues to work with College’s exams team, supporting development of the Primary Exam.

Dr Budd will receive her award at the College Tutors Meeting in June 2024.

Dr J Bernard (Bernie) Liban has been awarded the Dudley Buxton Prize for his meritorious work in delivering high quality educational events over a sustained period of time to the benefit of thousands of UK anaesthetists.

Dr Liban founded the Innovation Prize awarded annually by the Association of Anaesthetists and has recently taken up the position of President of the Section of Anaesthesia of the Royal Society of Medicine. He is a Consultant Anaesthetist at St George’s University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and remains active in the delivery of its educational programme.

Dr Marie Nixon has been awarded the Dudley Buxton Prize for the sustained work she has led in raising standards in quality and safety in anaesthesia, which has been of enormous benefit to the College. Her impact as Clinical Quality Advisor was wide reaching and innovative. She also gave a huge amount of time and constructive leadership to ACSA as one of the early adopters.

Dr Marie Nixon spent her clinical career as a Consultant Anaesthetist at Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust. Her special clinical interests include major general, especially anaesthesia for upper gastrointestinal and bariatric surgery, and paediatric anaesthesia.

Dr Mark Dirnhuber has been awarded the President’s Commendation for his outstanding support to trainees over a number of years.

Dr Dirnhuber has been a key part of the anaesthetic department of Southmead Hospital since he joined as a consultant in 1996. He has been a central figure supporting anaesthetists in training throughout their anaesthetic training and exam preparation. Over 60 trainees gave supporting testimonies in support of his nomination.

Fellows ad Eundem

We are also pleased to announce that the following members are to be awarded the
Fellow ad Eundem 

Dr Syed Rehan Haider Naqvi
Dr Naqvi is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Fairfield General Hospital, Northern Care Alliance, NHS Foundation Trust, a post he has held since January 2023. In addition to his clinical commitments, Dr Naqvi has a number of non-clinical responsibilities including CESR Lead.

Dr Chima Alexander Oti
Dr Oti is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Northwick Park Hospital, London North West University NHS Trust. Alongside his clinical duties he has obtained a Master's degree in medical education from King’s College London. Dr Oti is a College Tutor, RCoA Lead for Lifelong Learning Portfolio, Course Director for the LNWUH Primary FRCA Course and an Educational Supervisor.

Dr Baber Zaheer
Dr Zaheer is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Dartford & Gravesham NHS Trust, with 18 years of experience in anaesthesia. His areas of special interests are perioperative medicine, obstetric, and paediatric anaesthesia. He has been actively engaged in teaching and training programmes throughout his career. Dr Zaheer also enjoys management and has held various leadership roles within the NHS, including Clinical Lead for the Paediatric Anaesthesia & Enhanced Care Unit, and Divisional Lead for Theatres.

Dr Dennis Kwabena Barnes
Dr Barnes has worked in the NHS for over a decade and is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Swansea Bay University Health Board, a post he has held since November 2020. He is also the Lead Consultant, Ophthalmic and Day Surgery at Swansea Bay UHB. Alongside his clinical duties, teaching and research, Dr Barnes has held positions on the Local Medical Advisory Group (LMAG) of the Health Board and is a CESR assessor for the College.

Fellowship ad Eundem is awarded as part of Diplomates Day in September 2024.