Structure, Organisation and Regulations

The Royal College of Anaesthetists is the professional body responsible for the specialty of anaesthesia throughout the United Kingdom. Its principal responsibility is to ensure the quality of patient care through the maintenance of standards in anaesthesia, pain medicine and intensive care. The College’s activities include:

  • Setting standards of clinical care
  • Establishing the standards for the training of anaesthetists and those practising critical care and/or acute and chronic pain medicine
  • Setting and running examinations
  • Continued medical education of all practising anaesthetists

The College is made up from an elected Council of practising anaesthetists. The President and two Vice-Presidents are elected by the Council from their members.  Particular areas of work are considered by the College Council and a series of Boards and Committees. The administrative functions of the College are organised into four operational Sections and are carried out by approximately 75 members of staff:

The Chief Executive’s Office

The Education and Research Directorate

The Clinical Quality Directorate

Training and Examinations Directorate 

This website uses Cookies, for further information see our privacy policy.